The Sisters of the Cross and Passion were founded in 1852 by Elizabeth Prout in Manchester, England. The care and concern of the congregation was for working women exposed to harsh living conditions in factory towns and for children whose education was totally neglected. In 1924 they came to America.
Identification with Christ in the mystery of His Passion is at the heart of our charism. We desire to share His sufferings and to be molded into the pattern of His death, so that by the power of His resurrection we may share in His glorified life as Risen Lord. This experience of His passion in our own lives enables us to express the compassion of Christ toward others and to spread among them the knowledge of Christ crucified.
Downloaded and print: Prayer-for-the-Canonization-of-Elizabeth-Prout
OLC first opened its doors in 1958 as a center primarily devoted to parish-based women’s retreats. The original house was built in 1922, by the Bissell family, and contained 27 rooms on 12 acres of property.
With the help of loyal, hard-working supporters, the Sisters added the Saint Paul of the Cross Chapel and renovated the house to accommodate the retreat ministry.
In 1964, a large conference room and east/west wing private rooms were added. Further renovations extended the dining room and added two additional small meeting rooms and a newly renovated chapel.